“Fall Into Shape” Reflection

Starting Stats from 28 Days Ago:
Weight: 147.5
Waist: 35
Hips: 40

Stats As Of Today:
Weight: 145.2
Waist: 34
Hips: 39

Before I go over my goals and my reflections on them I do have to say that I did nothing this week. Monday is a rest day and Tuesday I totally forgot I had a thing I had to stay at school for, so I didn’t get in my yoga. Wednesday night I got home and was so tired and felt like my body was trying not to get sick (which I realized I had been feeling that way for about a week) so I called in sick for the next day to let myself rest. Thursday I did absolutely nothing the whole day but lie around and sleep. Friday I was feeling a little better but still very tired, so I decided to let my body rest and do what it needed to do. Same thing with yesterday and today. If there’s one thing I’ve learned it’s that if my body is tired and feeling “sick”, whether or not I have symptoms, I need to emoticon and let it do it’s thing.

With that being said, let’s take a look at the goals I initially set:

Track my food 24 out of the 28 days – I was being very good about only allowing myself one day where I didn’t track. This week hasn’t been the greatest because when I’m sick I’m not worried about tracking my food so much as I am with finding something to eat that is going to make me feel better.

Do cardio (a.k.a. run) 3 times a week – Did great with this and I definitely had a breakthrough with my running last Sunday. I didn’t work out this entire week so I know that’s going to set me back a bit but I’ll get back to the cardio on Wednesday.

Strength train/do yoga 2 times a week. This will be challenging as the yoga classes at my gym are all messed up because of renovations. I’m also going to try out a water class which is both cardio and strength. I’m a bit nervous about it, but we’ll give it a shot. – I actually didn’t give either of those classes a shot. I did try Pilates and loved it, but HATE the time. What I did was I found my ST card I got at the YMCA when I had my free training session. I made myself some workout cards to add to my little ring of cards full of workouts to keep in my gym back. I also wrote down some SP ST workouts and will try to do one short ST session at the end of each cardio session. If that means I only stay at the gym for 15-20 minutes longer, then super. As far as yoga went, I did some home yoga, but I definitely love my classes better. They’re a lot more intense and something about being in a room full of people doing yoga makes me want to try harder.

Run the SP Trick or Trot virtual 5K – Ummm… emoticon So that was this past week when I’ve been out of commission and I COMPLETELY forgot about it. But I can run a personal 5K some other time. emoticon

Post one blog a week with my progress/stats as well as one extra blog a week about other challenges and/or experiences. – emoticon

My goal is to lose 4-5 pounds at the end of the 28 days. I will take my stats on the first day and each week following. – Not as much of a weight loss as I had hoped, but still very good. I did learn over these past 28 weeks that it’s not the working out that I struggle with – I do plenty of that. It’s the foods that’s my weakness, especially the sweet stuff. That’s why I posted my motivational poster on my fridge. I need a reminder each time I find myself wanting food! I’m also really focusing on the fact that it takes time for you to feel full after you eat and that you don’t actually need to be FULL all the time. It’s OK to feel a little hungry, and I’m trying to make drinking be the first thing I do when I’m “hungry”. If I’m still hungry after I’ve had a drink and tried to not think about food for a while, then I take it for real hunger and let myself have a snack. I’ve noticed that I’ve actually been eating snacks less at school because of that, so that’s a good thing!

I also wanted to find an elliptical or set up my treadmill, but I did neither of those things. I realized that my treadmill was going to take up a lot of room, be loud, and probably not get used that often. Once I got to thinking about it I realized I honestly don’t watch TV that often and when I do let myself sit around and catch up on my shows on Hulu, that’s OK. Allowing myself to take a break is perfectly acceptable.

I’d say all in all I had a pretty successful four weeks. This coming week is going to be tough because I will be out of town from Friday to Tuesday for a conference. Last year I had every intention of using the hotel gym, but I didn’t. Good news in order to get from my hotel to the conference site I have to walk quite a few blocks, and I did that a couple times a day. The annoying thing is that my hotel room will most likely not have a fridge. Last year I assumed it would and it didn’t, so I had to keep the food I brought in the big industrial fridge by the hotel kitchen. So inconvenient. I ended up eating out for every meal which was alright because the school paid for it, but definitely not good for my waist. I called today to see if I could get a room with a fridge and they couldn’t guarantee it, so I’m going to bring some stuff that is more resilient without refrigeration and will keep it in a cooler and keep putting ice in it. I’ll also do some research of the places to eat and perhaps limit myself to once a day or a couple times the whole time I’m there. I’ll find a way to make it work. I just don’t want once weekend to set me back to where I was four weeks ago. What a waste of time that would be!

Oh, I also made that motivational poster I was talking about!  I was having a hard time loading all the images here, so here’s a link from my SP blog.  http://www.sparkpeople.com/mypage_public_journal_individual.asp?blog_id=4569001

2 Comments

Filed under Goal setting

2 responses to ““Fall Into Shape” Reflection

  1. Cyril

    Awesome! And Water Aerobics is amazing! I highly suggest it! It’s kind of cool when you are sweating and in a pool at the same time…weird sensation… Congrats!

  2. Thanks! Maybe I will give it a try one of these days. I’ve just never been much of a pool person. : )

Leave a Reply

