Week 1, Check-in 1

Monday nights are rough for me. I have choir rehearsal a half hour away and we get out at 9:45, so I usually get back and in bed way past my bedtime. Also, being the first week of school after our break, I’m getting used to getting up early again. I woke up this morning completely exhausted. The rainy weather didn’t help, and I got my flu shot yesterday so I don’t now if that had something to do with it. I was really sore all day too. Tonight was supposed to be a night to do yoga and I knew it would be hard for me to motivate myself with how icky I felt all day, so I kept telling myself throughout the day how nice it would be to go home and do some nice stretching, especially since I felt so sore. I came home from school and laid down for a power nap. From the moment I closed my eyes to when my alarm went off, I didn’t move an inch. I had planned to do 60 minutes of yoga (I have a video with 5 20-minute segments) and it took a lot of dragging myself to get there, but I did 40 minutes. Granted it wasn’t anything intense – mostly sitting and stretching poses. It was hard at first because I’m so stiff, but towards the end I felt a loose and refreshed. After, I made myself a nice portabello reuben (OMG DELICIOUS!) for dinner and poured myself a glass of red wine. I’ll be going to bed early tonight!

Yesterday and today I’ve also eaten above the calorie range that SparkPeople recommends for me, but I’m not worried because I always notice that when I’m in school I’m a lot more hungry than when I’m on break. I’m on my feet all day and the whole morning I’m jumping, skipping, and hopping all around my room. That’s one of the perks of being a music teacher. emoticon One of these days I want to wear my heart monitor for the whole day so I can see how many calories I burn in a day. I’m really curious what the difference is between school days and days that I’m at home.

Time now to pack my lunch for tomorrow and get to bed early. I’m super sleepy! Tomorrow I’m supposed to run, so I hope this tiredness goes away.

Leave a comment

Filed under Goal setting

Leave a Reply

