Power Breakfast

Lately I’ve been eating a lot of sugar and a lot of really heavy rich foods.  I think a lot of that has been due to the stress of this past track.  I’ve eaten out a lot and my diet has been less than stellar, and I can feel my body screaming at me.  As a result I have been craving a mostly vegan diet including a ton of foods I normally don’t ever want to eat.  Now that I’m tracked out and my parents’ visit is done, I’ll be doing a two-week detox and will most likely eat a mostly vegan diet.  The other day I woke up and instead of wanting my usual breakfast…

Usual Breakfast

This breakfast includes a whole wheat English muffin with butter, not margarine, a hard-boiled egg, a bowl of mixed fruit (in this case pineapple, strawberries, and kiwi), and a glass of orange juice.  All my breakfasts are structured this way.  Whole grain carb, usually toast, an English muffin, or waffles/pancakes.  Then I’ll have a protein of some sort.  Sometimes it’s cheese on on apple, cottage cheese, or more likely a hard-boiled egg.  Lastly I have a fruit and always a glass of orange juice.  But when I woke up the other day all I wanted was this…

New Breakfast!

First of all, as a kid I hated oatmeal.  Eating oatmeal is a recent development, but when I do I usually mix in brown sugar and maple syrup.  The thought of mixing in fruit and nuts was just nasty.  But it’s delicious – and filling! I’ll cook a half cup oatmeal in a bowl for about a minute, then add a sliced banana and a hand full of almonds and cook for another minute and 30 seconds.  Yummm!  And talk about a nice way to get rid of ripe bananas!

Yummy!

I can’t get enough of this breakfast and I’m inspired to try new oatmeal concoctions!  Anyone have any suggestions of their favourite ways to eat oatmeal?

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Favourites

2 responses to “Power Breakfast

  1. Nancy M

    I started using Bob’s Red Mill thick rolled oats–and I cook them on the stove for better texture than the microwaved oatmeal. I’ll chop an apple & add it at the beginning of the cooking, and a half teaspoon or so of cinnamon ( i like cinnamon a LOT), then stir in some frozen wild blueberries for the last minute of cooking so they melt, and a few chopped walnuts. YUM. I don’t add sweetener usually but occasionally I’ll stir in a little bit of molasses–a little goes a long way!
    I’m glad you’re feeling better– how is the return to running? Want to meet us for hills this week? since you’re tracked out?

  2. Steph

    I posted to the run group about a year ago about the merits of steel-cut oatmeal. If you boil a ratio of 2.5 cups water to 1 cup oats the night before, put the oatmeal in, stir once, and take off the heat and the next day your oatmeal will be cooked and ready to eat! My fave combo is some brown sugar and a handful of sliced toasted almonds or walnuts with milk. Craisens are good too!

    I hope you’ll think about joining us for Race for the Cure, Tamara! Great fun and a perfect June 5K! Come on out and test out those new shoes!

    Steph J.

Leave a Reply

