Week 5 Recap and Some Reflections on Running

Well, as you can probably guess from my last post, I really don’t have anything to reflect on for this week.  I did my scheduled 5 mile run on Monday, although that was a giant mistake.  I was so sore and tired from the 5K the day before and the 5 miles I did on the elliptical the Saturday before that I really needed a day of rest, but it was such a beautiful day I just couldn’t resist.  Spring fever!  The rest of the week I did nothing except sit home and rest.  So frustrating!  But I know it was the right choice.  I did, however, want to write about some thoughts I had on Monday while running, but have been too exhausted to write them down this entire week.

Monday I was running at Lake Lynn and focusing on staying in the correct HR range.  I felt like I could go forever, and it was liberating.  For the first time since I started running, I realized just how much I love the sport.  I love its simplicity.  You don’t need any fancy equipment to be a runner.  All you need is a pair of shoes (some would even argue that) and a ground to run on.  It’s raw and it’s organic.  There are no rules – just lace up your shoes and go.  I love its solitude.  Some might think running can get lonely, but I love the time I have to spend in my head – I’ve gotten to know myself a lot better since I started.  And although racing creates competition against others, I feel that, more than anything, running is a game you play against yourself.  On a deeper level, running is a game you play against your mind.  I love the freedom.  I love that my feet can take me anywhere I want to go, as far as I’m willing to push myself.

For the first time in my life, I truly feel that I am a runner.  It is not just something I do, but a part of who I am.  I’m no longer doing it to lose weight and get healthy, but rather because I can’t imagine a life without it.  Running has changed me, perhaps saved me.  Each time I go for a run I always find myself asking, “how did I live my life before?”  The honest answer to that is that I don’t think I did.

1 Comment

Filed under Half-Marathon Adventure, Running

One response to “Week 5 Recap and Some Reflections on Running

  1. David

    I’m ran to catch the bus this morning. I’m a runner, too! By the way, I do believe I’ll be running darn soon, because I’m finally free of the chain of school work for a while. We may have to try our feet out when I come down, although I’m doubting I’d beat you now.

Leave a Reply

