Recipe Success!

I don’t know why I didn’t think of this sooner, but I decided to vegetarianize a favourite meal of mine from my childhood.  It’s super simple, but so delicious, and a magnificent comfort food!  My mom used to make this every time we had leftovers from a roast chicken.  She’d make a white sauce out of flour, butter, milk, salt, and pepper, throw in some chunks of chicken, and a handful of frozen peas.  Serve it over rice and voila!  Yummm!  Instead of chicken I used Quorn tenders, which basically look and taste like cubed up chicken.  I love Quorn brand products because it seems to be the most naturally derived.  Other soy-based meat substitutes have a lot of fillers and crap in it, but Quorn is made from “mycoprotein,” which is derived from a fungus.  Sounds disgusting, but it tastes good!  The dish tasted just like I remember.  My mind is brimming with old favourites that I can vegetarianize now because of these products.  I can’t wait to try them all!  Anyway, take a look at this and try to tell me you don’t want to just gobble it up…

Creamy "Chicken" and Peas with Brown Rice

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking

One response to “Recipe Success!

  1. This looks delicious! I haven’t tried alot of meat “substitutes” since going veggie, but I’ve seen the Quorn products at Wegmans. Could you send me this recipe? I’d love to try it :0) Oh also, totally random recipe question. You know that Ukranian bread your mom makes at Easter time? I remember it having orange in it, and it was the best bread I’ve ever had! Do you have her recipe? I didn’t know if it was a traditional family recipe or one that she didn’t mind sharing. Either way, it’s awesome :0)

Leave a Reply

