Week 4 Training Recap

Monday: REST I was sick too so this worked out nicely.  I called in and slept all day.

Tuesday: Planned – Track Workout; Actual – light walk. Called in sick again this day, but by the end of the day was able to get myself up for an easy walk.

Wednesday: Planned – Yoga + CX 30 min; Actual – Speed/track workout on treadmill + core. Did the workout I’d do at the track on the treadmill to make up for the day before.  Didn’t go to yoga class because I had a Bible study, but I did a little in my living room.

Thursday: REST

Friday: Planned – 60 Min CX + core; Actual – REST I was exhausted this day and seeing as how I was sick earlier that week and still getting over all the sinus stuff, I decided to take another day.  It works out though because Sunday is usually my rest day, but I have a 5K planned for that day, so by switching that rest day and Friday and bumping everything back a day it worked itself out.

Saturday: Planned – Yoga + 5 miles; Actual – Yoga and 60 min. CX I hopped on an elliptical for 60 minutes after yoga.  I focused on staying completely in my endurance heart range but had a cross-training workout with changing incline so I worked different muscles and had to speed up/slow down based on the incline to keep my HR the same.  I felt awesome, like I could stay there all day!  Woohoo!  I covered about 5 1/2 miles anyway, so it was like getting my long run in.

Sunday: Planned – REST; Actual – Run for the Roses 5K with a 1 mile warm-up My running coach would be upset with me because after this whole seminar on the importance of paying attention to your HR, I ran the 5K at top speed.  I was running with a friend, which didn’t help, and I was excited!  So I ended up in my top heart range for most of it.  My time for my first 5K ever was 32:20 and my time this time around was 32:26, so not bad.  This course was a lot hillier than the first race I ran!  Anyway, I hurt all over and I have a headache.  I’m supposed to run 5 miles tomorrow, but I don’t know that that will be happening.  We’ll see.  : )  Probably not the smartest race ever, but I’m glad I did it.  It felt really good! 

Before the race!


2 Comments

Filed under Half-Marathon Adventure, Running

2 responses to “Week 4 Training Recap

  1. Steph

    Congrats on your 5K, Tamera! Hope you can solve the running/headache problem. That sometimes happens to me, but not very often. Are you hydrating?

    I know you go to work early but would love to see you at the track tomorrow morning!

  2. I can’t do the mornings because I’m up and getting ready for school at 5:30. : ( Besides, I won’t be running tomorrow. I ran 5 miles today and I shouldn’t have. Driving home from Lake Lynn I realized I’ve racked up 14 miles in the past 3 days. My knees need a break. Around mile 4 today they started screaming at me. Eep! But it was too beautiful NOT to run!

Leave a Reply

