Week 2 Training Recap plus January Recap

Monday: Planned – 4 mile run; Actual – 4 mile run + core. I’ve actually begun to heed the advice of my crazy running coach and do core workouts after my regular workouts.  I braved the cold and ran outside Monday because I’m so sick of the treadmill.  I felt like a true runner out there all bundled up in gloves with the wind blowing right through my sweatshirt, but it felt AWESOME!

Tuesday: Planned – Track Workout; Actual – 30 min interval workout on elliptical + core. It was raining on Tuesday so track was canceled.  I went to go run it by myself but my left knee has been bothering me so I went on the elliptical and made up my own interval training as I went along.  It was a tough workout!  I remember my towel dropped on the floor about 5 minutes in so I was left without it and couldn’t wipe up any sweat along the way.  I was dripping…that’s unusual for me.

Wednesday: Planned – Yoga + CX 30 min; Actual – Half of yoga + 40 minute swim workout. My usual instructor wasn’t as yoga and I just wasn’t feeling it with the sub.  I left about halfway through because I just kept looking at the clock.  Went to the pool and was happy to find that there was almost no one there and I could get a whole lane to myself.  I probably looked utterly pathetic, but I enjoyed myself and look forward to doing another swim workout this week.  It was tough!

Thursday: REST

Friday: Planned – CX 60 min + core; Actual – 60 min elliptical + core. I am seriously falling in love with the elliptical.  From far away, it seems like the sissy approach to running, but let me tell you.  It is hard sometimes, especially when you get to those big cross ramps!  Or, gosh, going backwards!  EEEEEEP!

Saturday: Planned – Yoga + 6 miles; Actual – Yoga + 6 miles. Yoga also had a different instructor yesterday, but she was good.  She was tough, but in a different way than my usual instructor is, so it’s was almost harder for me than usual.  She did a lot of leg work (high lunge, warrior one, warrior two, extended side angle) so it made my run a little tougher (or more numb I should say).  She was this cute little Indian lady with an awesome accent.  I loved how she would hold out her vowels for way too long.  “Iiiiinhaaaale.  Eeeeexhaaaale.”  Hilarious.  It only made me want to go to India more than I already do.  6 miles was tough.  I met up with a lovely gentleman from the running group and we ran around Shelley lake 3+ times (it’s not quite 2 miles around) in 68 minutes.  Our pace ended up being between 11:00 and 12:00, but it was good.  I was probably at the top of my HR range and could have benefited from slowing down slightly, but I’m glad I had someone there to keep me going.  I hurt today.  I haven’t hurt after a run in a while.  But it’s a great feeling to know that I pushed myself and only had to stop and walk for 30 seconds.  I do need to figure out this hydration/nutrition situation.  I keep getting headaches after long runs, so on payday tomorrow I’m going to go to Raleigh Running Outfitters and buy a water running belt and see about getting some sort of natural-based running nutrition.

Now to see how I’ve been doing with my 2011 resolutions.  Here’s my January recap:

  1. Run 3 times a week – I’ve been doing pretty well with this! 
  2. Run 5 5Ks –Haven’t run any yet, but I have 3 written into my training plan.
  3. Train for and participate in a half-marathon – Training as we speak.
  4. Strength train twice a week – I wrote this with the intention that I’d do a strength machine circuit twice a week, but I simply don’t have the time.  As I mentioned in my training schedule blog, I’m counting my two times a week at yoga as strength training.  I ain’t doin’ no easy peasy yoga. 
  5. Go to a yoga class at least once a week – Check.
  6. Pray every day – My problem here is that I don’t have a time set aside each day.  I’ve been doing this mostly as I’m falling asleep, so some nights I forget.  I think I need to start setting my alarm for a little earlier and doing this.  At the beginning of the school year I was getting up a half hour earlier to do yoga.  That got old because I was sick of my videos and they weren’t doing anything for me anymore, but I need to start doing that again and spending that time praying, and maybe do a little yoga too, because sometimes for me praying and yoga happen simultaneously.
  7. Join a Bible study – Check.  Now whether or not I have time to get through all the material each week is a different story.  I haven’t completely neglected it, but I haven’t gotten through all of it either. 
  8. Read 20 books – 2 down and in the process of reading another.  I read “Undress Me In The Temple of Heaven” by Susan Jane Gilman and “The Ten Commandments of Dating” by Ben Young and Dr. Samual Adams.  I’m currently reading a memoir called “Ultra Marathon Man: Confessions of An All-Night Runner” by Dean Karnazes.  Good book! 
  9. Put away $100-$200 a month for a down payment on a car – At the beginning of this month I set aside $100.  This month will be better since I’m done paying my brother-in-law for my Mac. 
  10. Try 3 new recipes each month – I got stuck in the mode of wanting recipes I’ve made before, and the one new recipe I tried was an epic failure.

How are you doing on your goals?  Have you set any yet?  It’s not too late to start!

2 Comments

Filed under Goal setting, Half-Marathon Adventure, Running

2 responses to “Week 2 Training Recap plus January Recap

  1. isabelle31

    Good for you, Tamara! I love reading your entries–they’ve motivated me to do my own weekly wrap-up on my SP blog.

Leave a Reply

