I Picked A Half!

Yesterday I sat down to figure out my training plan.  After looking through quite a few, I went mostly with the one I received from the running coach for the running group I joined at the YMCA, with a few modifications of my own.  I was originally going to pick a race over my summer break, but when I sketched out my plan it happened to end the last week of my spring track-out and I thought to myself “Why drag this out?  Just DO it!  Who cares if I miss a week along the way out of sickness and can’t run the entire thing.  I can run another one later this year!”  And, besides, who wants to run in Raleigh in July?!?  So I’m going to DO this!  April 10th!  Raleigh Rocks Half Marathon!  Eep!  I mean…WOOOHOOOO!

The original training plan was 13 weeks with 2 weeks base.  My past two weeks following Hal Higdon have been harder than the base 2, and I needed the plan to be 12 weeks to make it to the race, so I chopped off the first week.  It’s what I was doing these past two weeks anyway!  So here’s my crazy 12-week plan!  5Ks listed here are tentative as I haven’t signed up for any yet, but it probably won’t change much from this.

Notes:

CX = Cross train, most likely elliptical or I’ll give a stab at swimming.  And, if I feel like torturing myself, cycling (which I can do on Thursday and rest on Friday instead).

Track = These are workouts at a track with the YMCA running group.  Don’t really know what they entail, but I imagine they’re intense and involved speed work, so these are a nice mix from a normal distance run.

Strength Training = You won’t see these words in my plan, but you’ll see Yoga on there.  I know what you’re thinking: “Yoga isn’t strength training!  It’s stretching!”  Well, you take an intermediate/advanced yoga class and try telling me that this isn’t strength training.  Then we’ll chat.  (Yes, we did that in class yesterday)

Core = Abdominal workout.  Need those abs to run!

On 5K days I’ve put the miles I’d run without the 5K in parentheses, so I plan on doing the 5K plus extra mileage later in the day to put me at the number in parentheses.

Week 1 Build (1/17-1/23) M – 3 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – Yoga, 5 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 2 Peak (1/24-1/30) M – 4 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – Yoga, 6 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 3 Recover (1/31-2/6) M – 3 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – Rest; Sat – Yoga, 4 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 4 Build 1 (2/7-2/13) M – Rest; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – Yoga, (5 miles – I’ll probably make this 2 because of the 5K the next day); Sun – Run for the Roses 5K

Week 5 Build 2 (2/14-2/20) M – 5 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – Yoga, 6 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 6 Peak (2/21-2/27) M – 6 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – Yoga, 7 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 7 Recover (2/28-3/6) M – Rest; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – Rest; Sat – (5 miles) Get Your Rear In Gear 5K + 2 miles ; Sun – Rest, or Yoga class to make up for Saturday yoga class.

Week 8 Build 1 (3/7-3/13) M – 5 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – Yoga, 7 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 9 Build 2 (3/14-3/20) M – 6 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – (9 miles) Equinoxilizer 5K + 6 miles; Sun – Rest, or Yoga

Week 10 Peak (3/21-3/27) M – 7 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – 60 min CX, Core; Sat – Yoga, 11 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 11 Recover (3/28-4/3) M – 5 miles; T – Track; W – Yoga, 30 min CX; TH – Rest; F – Rest; Sat – Yoga, 9 miles; Sun – Rest

Week 12 RACE WEEK (4/4-4/10) M – 3 miles; T – 3 Easy miles; W – Yoga; TH – CX Easy; F – Rest; Sat – Rest; Sun – Raleigh Rocks Half Marathon!


My biggest challenge with this training plan is going to be acknowledging the importance of rest.  I have a tendency to feel really guilty when I don’t work out, and there are recovery weeks in this plan where I barely run.  That’s going to be really difficult for me, but I have to accept that rest is a part of healthy training.  I also need to remember to not run too fast!  I met with a group of gals yesterday for a 4 mile outdoor run and ran at a bit of a slower pace than I’m used to and I felt like I could run FOREVER!  So I’m looking to get a heart rate monitor and am going to be especially diligent about paying attention to my HR to make sure I don’t train too hard.  That’s definitely one of my weaknesses!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Half-Marathon Adventure, Running

5 responses to “I Picked A Half!

  1. Lindsay Ralph (Madden)

    Ok Tamara…I admire you so much for sticking to your guns and getting so far in your running. I’ve been telling myself I’m gonna run a 5k for months and months, and every time I start the Couch to 5k program, I about die the first day, and haven’t pushed past the first week. I just started it for the 3Rd TIME, and I’m determined to stick with it this time. I feel so pathetic that I cant even run 60 secs without gasping for breath after the first couple of run, walk rotations. Reading people’s accomplishments such as this, and one other friends progress, makes me feel like “if they can do it, so can I”. So I just wanted to say thank you for sharing your journey and WAY TO GO! 🙂

    • Lindsay! So, if you can’t run for the full 60 seconds, run as much of that 60 seconds as you can and walk the rest. Keep repeating week one until you can do the full 60 seconds. There you go! Or before I ever even did C25K I started by doing 5 minute rotations. It looked something like this:

      5 minute brisk walk warm-up
      1 minute run, 4 minutes walk (4 times)
      5 minute cool-down

      Once you get that down, change it to 2 minutes running, 3 minutes walking. Then 3 running, 2 walking. You get the idea. If you need to start out with a shorter running interval, try 30 seconds running, 4:30 walking. These plans are only guidelines. Make them work for you!

  2. isabelle31

    Good for you! You can do it!

  3. Steph

    Congrats choosing your race, Tamera! I hope you’ll enjoy the running program this spring. I’m a little biased, being married to the run coach, but it’s a great group of people. Hope you had fun on your group run yesterday! I’m enjoying your blog that chronicles your progress–keep it up! You can use it to motivate yourself on those tough days.

    Hope to meet you soon!
    Steph Jeffries

Leave a Reply

