Starting Stats

This morning I thought it would be a good idea to take some stats to compare my body at the beginning of training and at end.  I weigh myself every morning, naked, after I pee.  My weight tends to fluctuate somewhere between 152 and 155.  Today it was the lowest I’ve seen.  Here are the stats:

  • Weight – 151.4 lbs
  • BMI – 27.7 (“normal” is 18.5 – 24.9)
  • Waist – 34 in.
  • Hips – 39.25 in.
  • Bust – 35 in.
  • Right Thigh – 22.5 in.
  • Left Thigh – 23 in.
  • Bra Size – 36 B
  • Pant Size – New York & Co. size 12 (I use NY&Co. because they’re the only place I’ve constantly had pants from)
  • Shirt Size – Medium
  • Number of Races – 1 5K
  • Longest Mileage Run – 4 miles
  • Longest Time Run – 44 minutes

I did a 3-mile run today and it was so rough!  For some reason today was a slow day all around.  I got up late, moseyed while getting ready, got to school much later than I had planned on, and spent 6 hours doing something I thought would only take me 2.  I got to the gym around 8:00 and set the treadmill for 3 miles.  OMG it d…r…a…g…g…e…d… on.  I’ve been able to run as fast as 6-6.5 mph, although when I was running 4 miles the other day I only ran about 5.5 mph.  Today I could barely run 5mph.  It was torture.  I even had to stop and walk a couple of times!  I don’t know why I was being so slow today, but I just acknowledged the fact that today was a little slower than usual and didn’t worry about it.  I was proud of myself for being there and I pushed myself through that run.  I wanted to quit so many times but I just kept saying “you’re not going to let yourself quit at 2 miles, are you?  What are you going to do when you have to run 13?”  I think part of the reason why I was having a hard time was because my hamstrings and calves were really tight today.  I try to do a really good job stretching, but yesterday I was really sore.  I know some of that was from yoga, but I think part of it was from that 4-miler.  I stretch on the treadmill when I’m done but I need to make it a point to go into the multi-purpose training room and stretch on the mat when I’m done.  I did that today so hopefully it’ll help my hammies tomorrow.

I had a moment today where I had a choice to make.  My teacher friend came over to my building to work on some stuff and asked me if I wanted to get dinner afterward.  At first I said yes but started thinking about how I would get to the gym since it would be so late.  I was thinking of running outside while she was doing her work but it was already dark out, so I did something I wouldn’t usually do.  I said no.  I said we could do lunch tomorrow instead and I kept my appointment with myself.  I realize that if I want to do this, I might have to say no to some of these spontaneous things.  I realize that if I set a plan to workout at night, I have to stick with it because that time is already set aside.  Not only did I get my run in by saying no, but I also saved a bunch of calories I would have consumed because, knowing us, dinner would have resulted in fatty Mexican food and a lot of margaritas.  : )

3 Comments

Filed under Goal setting, Half-Marathon Adventure, Running

3 responses to “Starting Stats

  1. great job on saying no and making time for your workout. and as for the run, all treadmill runs d…r…a…g… on forever for me! *lol* it’s such a mental struggle. good luck on your training!

    • Kasie

      yeah…. great job on saying no!!! 😛

      what’s wrong with fatty Mexican and lots of margaritas???!???!

      • HAHA! There’s nothing wrong with it once in a while! But let’s save it for half-way through the track when we want to stab ourselves in the face. The timing would be better. : )

Leave a Reply

